Moving on

4/28/2013

 
We've been here at Four Paws Kingdom Campground in Rutherfordton, North Carolina for a week now and tomorrow it will be time to move on to new things. We were seasonal campers here for 8 months last year - mostly so Doris could have agility training and develop some self-confidence. Of course, we enjoyed it too. We left for the winter and spent almost 4 months on various beautiful beaches - it was an amazing time and definitely fulfilled a lifelong dream of mine. Stopping back here at Four Paws has closed the circle of our winter travels. I'm anxious to move north and see more new sights.

I realized a few days ago that we've mostly been in the south since October 2011, with a couple of short treks north. I've enjoyed it a lot but don't anticipate ever spending that much time down here again. We'll spend next winter in Austin, TX (not the south!) and there are a few other places I'd return to for brief visits but I'm a California girl - I don't do humidity and bugs very well. So I'll grab my years supply of Duke's mayonnaise and hit the road north on Monday.
Picture
My favorite beach of the winter - Hunting Island, SC
Picture
My favorite beach of the winter - Hunting Island, SC

Comments are closed.